APS 2019 conference | Primate Conservation in Africa: Challenges and Opportunities

Uganda is home to 15 different primate species, with Kibale National Park containing the highest density in the whole of Africa.

Mountain Gorilla

Mountain Gorilla: The mountain gorilla (Gorilla beringei beringei) is one of two subspeciesof the eastern gorilla (Gorilla beringei). It is similar to humans with a DNA composition of 98.4%.  It is listed as Endangered on the IUCN Red List. The total population is estimated to comprise of 1,004 individuals as of the 2018 census. In Uganda, mountain gorillas can be found in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park and Mgahinga Gorilla National Park.The biggest threats to the gorillas are habitat loss, disease and poaching for other wildlife in their habitat.

Eastern Chimpanzee

Eastern Chimpanzee: The chimpanzee(Pan troglodytes), also known as the common chimpanzee, robust chimpanzee, or simply “chimp”, is a species of great ape native to the forests and savannahs of tropical Africa. The chimpanzee is listed on the IUCN Red List as an endangered In Uganda, chimpanzees can be found in Kibale Forest National Park (also known as the primate capital of the world), Budongo Forest, Queen Elizabeth National Park (in the Kyambura Gorge), Kalinzu Forest and Toro-Semuliki Wildlife Reserve.  The biggest threats to the chimpanzee are habitat loss, poaching and disease. They can also be found at Uganda Wildlife Conservation Education Center and Ngamba Island.

Red colobus monkey

Red colobus monkey: Red colobuses are Old World monkeysof the genus Piliocolobus. It was formerly considered a subgenus within the genus Procolobus, which is now restricted to the olive colobus. They are closely related to the black-and-white colobus monkeys (genus Colobus), and some species are often found in groups with the blue monkey. The western red colobus is frequently hunted by the common chimpanzee. In Uganda it can be found in Kibale National Park, Matiri and Itwara Central Forest Reserves (Mugume et al. 2015) as well as Semliki National Park and Wildlife Reserve. They are listed as Endangered on IUCN Red List due to habitat loss and predation.

Golden monkey

Golden monkey: The golden monkey (Cercopithecus kandti) is a species of Old World monkeyfound in Mgahinga National park. It is restricted to highland forest, especially near bamboo. This species was previously thought to be a subspecies of the blue monkey (Cercopithecus mitis) and the two are similar overall, but the golden monkey has a golden-orange patch on the upper flanks and back. It is listed as endangered on the IUCN Red List.

Black and white colobus

Black and white colobus: Black-and-white colobuses(or colobi) are Old World monkeys of the genus Colobus, native to Africa. They are the most common and widespread forest monkey in Uganda and are closely related to the red colobus monkeys of genus Piliocolobus. Conservation Status: Least Concern.

Red-tailed monkey

Red-tailed monkey: The red-tailed monkey, also known as the black-cheeked white-nosed monkey, red-tailed guenon, redtail monkey, or Schmidt’s guenon (Cercopithecus ascanius) is a species of primate in the family Cercopithecidae. They are Least Concern on the IUCN red list.

Grey-Cheeked Mangabey

Grey-Cheeked Mangabey: The grey-cheeked mangabey(Lophocebus albigena), also known as the white-cheeked mangabey, is an Old World monkey. It can be found in Kibale National Park. It is Least Concern on the IUCN Red list.

L’Hoest’s monkey

L’Hoest’s monkey: The L’Hoest’s monkey(Allochrocebus lhoesti), or mountain monkey, is a guenon found in the upper eastern Congo basin. They mostly live in mountainous forest areas in small, female-dominated groups. They have a dark coat and can be distinguished by a characteristic white beard. In Uganda they can be found in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park and Kibale National Park. They are listed as vulnerable on the IUCN Conservation Status.

Blue monkey

Blue monkey: The blue monkey or diademed monkey (Cercopithecus mitis) is a species of Old World monkeynative to Central and East Africa, ranging from the upper Congo River basin east to the East African Rift and south to northern Angola and Zambia. It sometimes includes the Sykes’silver, and golden monkey as subspecies. It is listed as Least Concern on the IUCN In Uganda, they can be found in Kibale National Park.

Olive baboon

Olive baboon: The olive baboon (Papio anubis), also called the Anubis baboon, is a member of the family Cercopithecidae (Old World monkeys). The common name is derived from its coat colour, which is a shade of green-grey at a distance. A variety of communications, vocal and non-vocal, facilitate a complex social structure. In Uganda they can be found in Queen Elizabeth National Park, Kibale National Park and Murchison Falls National Park and many other forest reserves. They are Least Concern on the IUCN red list.

Bush babies

Bush babies: These are also known as Galagos or nagapies (meaning “little night monkeys” in Afrikaans), are small nocturnalprimates native to continental Africa, and make up the family Galagidae (also sometimes called Galagonidae). They are sometimes included as a subfamily within the Lorisidae or Loridae.According to some accounts, the name “bushbaby” comes from either the animal’s cries or its appearance. The Afrikaans name nagapie is because they are almost exclusively seen at night, while the Ghanaian name aposor is given to them because of their firm grip on branches. Bush babies are Least threatened.

De Brazza's monkey

De Brazza’s monkey: The De Brazza’s monkey (Cercopithecus neglectus) is an Old World monkeyendemic to the wetlands of central Africa. It is one of the most widespread African primates that live in forests. It is listed as Least Concern under the IUCN conservation status.


Potto: The potto (Perodicticus potto) is a strepsirrhineprimate of the family Lorisidae. It is the only species in the genus Perodicticus. It is also known as Bosman’s potto, after Willem Bosman who described the species in 1704. IUCN status: Least Concern.

Vervet monkey

Vervet monkey: The vervet monkey (Chlorocebus pygerythrus), or simply vervet, is an Old World monkeyof the family Cercopithecidae native to Africa. The term “vervet” is also used to refer to all the members of the genus Chlorocebus. They are listed as Least Concern on the IUCN Red list. There are found all over Uganda.

Eastern Patas Monkey

Eastern Patas Monkey: The patas monkey (Erythrocebus patas), also known as the wadi monkey or hussar monkey. It was formerly considered the only member of the genus Erythrocebus, but the Blue Nile patas monkey, previously synonymized with this species, was resurrected in 2018. In Uganda it can be found in Kidepo Valley national park. It is listed as Least Concern on the IUCN Red list.